环境

气候行动

当今时代,人类活动已远远超出地球所能承受的限度,溢达致力于提高气候适应能力,与地球的环境和谐发展。从棉花种植到成衣销售,我们积极应对行业最大的环境挑战,特别是在能源、水、空气质量、化学品和废弃物方面。我们相信,通过对供应链和资源的良好管理,以及动员每一位员工参与气候行动,我们在当代以及未来能够实现经济、社会和环境均衡发展。

变革之声

地球是我们共同的家园。 每一个公民都有责任为环境保护贡献自己的力量。 不积跬步,无以至千里;不积小流,无以成江海。每一个微细的改变也能有所作为。携手合作,我们就能迈向一个更健康的地球家园。 从一线工人到高级管理人员,我们鼓励员工成为变革推动者,让基层员工发挥主观能动性,减少我们对环境的影响。

行动愿景

增强气候适应能力

毋庸置疑,人们已经感受到了气候变化所带来的影响。溢达的同事已经亲身经历了台风、洪水和干旱日益频繁所带来的严重后果。

2018年6月8日,台风“艾云尼”给中国广东省带来了暴雨。午夜时分,洪水涌进了我们位于佛山市高明区杨梅镇工厂的生产车间、电房、裁床和包装区域。由于整个地区的水电和公共交通中断,我们安排了一台穿梭巴士疏散夜班员工。随后,该地区的商店也相继关门,工人及其家人均没有食物供应。我们从临近的乡镇调运食物,并向当地社区开放公司食堂,为那些需要食物和住所的人提供支持。

继续阅读

立足坚实基础

在溢达,我们积极应对供应链每一环的环境足迹。 为了未来的世代,保护和改善环境是我们义不容辞的责任。 基于战略性的可持续投资体系,我们投资并采用经济上合理的技术,使我们能够消耗更少的原材料,减少产生废弃物,并对废弃物进行重用、回收和再造,以确保资源得到最佳分配和利用。我们的纵向一体化供应链使我们能够全面识别和管理跨供应链的影响,同时对其优先级进行排序。 藉此,我们能够有效地分配资源,提高生产流程效率和形成富有成效的工作实践。

溢达致力于可持续发展和环境保护。我们积极与政府合作,在国内和国际范围大力推动可持续发展相关议程。

  • 世界大型企业联合会 全球可持续发展中心
  • 中国自然资源保护委员会高级顾问委员会(NRDC)
  • 山水自然保护中心

我们还积极响应行业倡议,为我们的可持续发展绩效设定基准。 例如,我们使用永续成衣联盟(SAC)Higg指数来传达我们在全球运营中的表现。 在保护我们共同的家园方面,我们重视每一个想法,每一项行动。 以下是2018年我们在水资源,能源,空气质量,化学品和废弃物管理方面所付出的努力和获得的成果。

水资源无疑是纺织业面对最严峻的问题。当人口及经济持续增长,对水资源的需求亦急速地上升。水资源短缺及污染已影响超过十亿发展中国家的国民。

溢达位于高明的基地拥有中国纺织业最大的自有水质净化中心之一。 它服务于我们的生产业务,包括纺纱,面料和成衣制造。 它符合广东省DB 44 / 26-2001标准和国家GB 4287-2012标准。 根据广东省生态环境部门每年对全省污水处理厂进行审查的数据,我们的水质净化中心在2017年最新公布的结果中获得了最高标准的认证。

消耗

从2010年起,我们的单位生产耗水量减少了

39%
47 mg/L

化学耗氧量 (COD)

为了与自然和谐共处,在向周边水体排放时,溢达水处理的化学耗氧量远低于中国国家标准的80毫克/升。

 

注:该数据仅指高明生产基地

COD discharge

循环再用水资源

2011年,我们开发并安装了逆渗透回收系统,该系统每天可将5,000吨污水处理成可饮用水,然后重新投入生产。在某些流程中,回收的水也可以未经处理就重新投入使用。右图所示为重用和回收水的总量。 注: 该数据来源于高明生产基地

 

注:该数据仅指高明生产基地

3,150,000

吨循环和再用水

能源

自2010年以来,我们积极应用节能科技,持续升级机器设备,大大降低了我们的生产能源单耗。当前,我们也面临着挑战,包括重大项目的翻新,改造以及在完成改造后如何获得更高的能源效率。 我们也意识到,利用自动化设备提高生产力可能会进一步提高能耗。

溢达正致力于多项举措,改进我们纵向一体化供应链的生产流程,引入更多可再生能源和创新技术,以进一步减少生产过程中的能源消耗。

單位能源消耗

从2010年起,我们的单位生产能耗量减少了20%

20%

排放

能源管理系统是控制碳和其他温室气体(GHG)排放的主要机制。 我们使用温室气体协议和ISO 14064来追踪和监测我们在中国所有工厂的排放,并使我们与全球标准保持同步。

在我们位于高明的基地,溢达已经投建了自己的热电厂。我们对该热电厂实行严格的监控和管理,以最大程度地减少了排放。我们使用低硫煤,现场对废碱液进行脱硫处理和使用静电沉淀等方式减少空气污染物排放。对于持续的能源需求,我们正在探索增加使用替代能源技术的方法。2015年,我们在高明的厂房安装了屋顶太阳能电池板。

温室气体排放

我们不断努力降低我们各个生产经营场所的温室气体排放。

非温室气体排放

我们不断努力降低我们各个生产经营场所非温室气体排放。

化学品

我们的原则是从源头减少、替代和消除化学添加剂,而不仅仅是在生产流程结束后才消除污染物和有毒物质。 我们面临的挑战是如何适当运用新化学品和新配方的同时减轻其潜在的负面影响。

我们将化学品处理的安全性放在首位,在标签,使用,运输和存储方面制定严格的规程。处理化学品的员工必须接受专门培训,穿着防护服,每年进行健康检查。

我们与供货商通力合作,尽可能优化化学品的使用。减少耗用化学品、能源和水一直是我们生产过程中的目标。 我们与不同的业务伙伴合作,并已获得多项认证,此外,我们还使用Bluesign Bluefinder数据库。

有害化学物质零排放基金会(ZDHC)生产限用物质清单( MRSL)

溢达遵守有害化学物质零排放基金会(ZDHC)生产限用物质清单( MRSL)。 与ZDHC优先消除危险化学品的目标相同,我们拥有强大的化学品管理系统,并且一直遵循ZDHC MRSL和废水指南。 我们规定了自己的MRSL供化学品供货商遵守,只允许符合要求的化学品进入我们的生产设施。 我们还根据ZDHC废水指南监测废水参数y。

奖项

ORGANIZATION
Natural Resources Defense Council

AWARD
Rate 91.13/100 in the assessment

YEAR
2020

ORGANIZATION
Federation of Hong Kong Industries, and Hang Seng Bank

AWARD
Hang Seng Pan Pearl River Delta Environmental Awards – Gold Award

ORGANIZATION
Federation of Hong Kong Industries, and Hang Seng Bank

AWARD
Hang Seng Pan Pearl River Delta Environmental Awards – Silver Award

认证

  • Global Organic Textile Standard 5.0
  • ISO9001
  • ISO14001
  • ISO50001
  • Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design
  • Oeko-Tex Standard 100
  • Oeko-Tex Sustainable Textile and Leather Production
zh_CNChinese

PLANET

CLIMATE ACTION

In an age when human activities have gone far beyond what the planet can support, Esquel strives to achieve climate resilience and harmony with the planet. From seed to shirt, we respond actively to our industry’s biggest environmental challenges, specifically in relation to energy, water, air quality, chemicals, and waste. We believe that through good management of our supply chain and resources, as well as mobilizing each of our 40,000 employees for climate action, we can realize our aspiration to balance the economic, social and environmental needs of our present and future generations.

VOICES OF CHANGE

Our planet is our common home. Every citizen has a responsibility to care for it in their own capacity. We believe no action is too small to make a difference, and that collectively, we will move the needle towards a healthier planet. From frontline workers to senior management, we encourage Esquelers to be change agents, leading grassroots initiatives to reduce our impact on the environment.

ASPIRATIONS IN ACTION

INVESTING IN RESILIENCE

The impacts of climate change are now undeniably felt by all – Esquelers have experienced firsthand the consequences of typhoons, floods, and droughts in increasing frequency and magnitude.

On 8 June 2018, Typhoon Ewiniar brought torrential downpours into China’s Guangdong Province. At midnight, rainwater flooded into the production floors, electricity room, and cutting and packaging areas of our operating facility in Yangmei township. With water, power, and all public transportation cut off throughout the wider district, we arranged a shuttle bus to evacuate our night shift employees. In the immediate aftermath, stores in the area were shut down, leaving our workers and their families without food. We delivered food from a neighboring township and opened our canteen to the community, supporting those in need of food and shelter.

READ MORE

A SOLID FOUNDATION

At Esquel, we respond actively to our environmental footprint in every step of the supply chain. For future generations, it is our responsibility to protect and improve the environment. Based on the Strategic Sustainable Investing system, we invest and adopt economically sensible technologies that enable us to consume less raw material, and reduce, reuse, recycle and recreate from waste to ensure the best allocation of resources. Our vertically-integrated supply chain enables us to take a holistic approach to identify, prioritize, and manage cross-supply-chain impact. This allows the efficient allocation of resources and provides efficient process flows and productive work practices.

We are a strong believer in sustainable development and environmental conservation. Our commitment is reflected in our involvement with government to steer international and domestic agenda on sustainability.

  • Conference Board Global Sustainability Center
  • Natural Resource Defense Council China High Level Advisory Council (NRDC)
  • Shan Shui Conservation Center

We also actively participate in industry initiatives to set benchmarks for our performances. For example, we use the Sustainable Apparel Coalition (SAC) Higg Index to communicate our performance across our global operations. When it comes to protecting our common home, no idea is too big, and no action is too small. Here are the results from 2018 that exemplifies our efforts to make a difference in the areas of water, energy, air, chemicals, and waste.

WATER

Water is no doubt one of the most pressing problems for our industry. As population and economies grow, global freshwater demand has been increasing rapidly. Water shortage already exists in many regions. Around 1 billion people in developing countries have inadequate access to clean water. In addition, water pollution diminishes water quality and creates health hazards.

Our Gaoming site houses one of the largest self-owned wastewater treatment plants in China’s textile industry. It serves our manufacturing operations including spinning, fabric, and garment productions. It meets both the Guangdong province standard DB 44/26-2001, and the national GB 4287-2012 standard. According to the department of ecology and environment of Guangdong province, which conducts audits to wastewater treatment plants across the province annually, our facilities received the highest standard accreditation in the most recent published result in 2017.

CONSUMPTION PER UNIT OF PRODUCTION

Since 2010, we have reduced water consumption per unit of production by

39%
47 mg/L

DISCHARGE

Seeking harmony with nature, Esquel treats our wastewater before releasing it back into surrounding water bodies.

 

Note: this data is from our Gaoming operations, COD is treated to levels below the government allowable limit.

COD discharge

REUSED AND RECYCLED WATER

In 2011, we developed and installed a reverse-osmosis recycling system capable of processing 5,000 tons of wastewater per day into potable quality that we put back into production. For some processes, water can also be reused without treatment. Here is the total amount of reused and recycled water.

 

Note: this data is from our Gaoming operations.

3,150,000

Tons of water reused and recycled

ENERGY

Progressive applications of energy-efficient technologies and the upgrading of machinery and equipment have significantly reduced our global per unit energy consumption since 2010. The forthcoming challenges are about gaining additional energy efficiency after most major refurbishments, retrofitting and improvements are now in place. We are also aware that our bid for higher productivity with automated equipment could further drive up energy consumption.

Esquel is currently focusing on a broad range of initiatives to introduce additional production process improvements, renewable energies, and innovative technologies across our vertically-integrated supply chain to achieve further reduction of energy use in the course of production.

ENERGY CONSUMPTION PER UNIT OF PRODUCTION

Since 2010, we have reduced energy consumption per unit of production by 20%.

20%

EMISSIONS

The energy management systems are the main control mechanisms for carbon and other greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. The GHG Protocol and ISO 14064 are used to track and measure emissions from all our China operations and keep us abreast of global standards.

At our Gaoming site, we have invested in our own thermal power plant, which is carefully monitored and managed to minimize emissions. We use low-sulfur coal, desulfurize waste lye onsite, and electrostatic precipitation to reduce air pollutants. For ongoing energy needs, we are exploring ways to increase use of alternative energy technologies. A set of rooftop solar panel were installed in Gaoming in 2015.

GHG EMISSIONS

We continuously work to lower our GHG emissions in all areas of our operations.

NON-GHG EMISSIONS

We continuously work to lower our non-GHG emissions in all areas of our operations.

CHEMICALS

Our principle is to reduce, substitute, and eliminate chemical additives from the outset— not just to eliminate pollutants and toxins at the end of the production process. Our challenge is to keep pace with and mitigate the potential impact of new chemicals, and new formulas available.

We prioritize safety in chemical handling, putting in place strict protocols in labeling, use, transport and storage. Esquelers who handle chemicals are required to go through specialist training, wear protective clothing, and have annual health checkups.

We work with suppliers on possible optimization of chemical use, and reduction in chemicals, energy, and water is always our goal in the production process. Working with different partners, we have received various certifications, and we also use the Bluesign Bluefinder database.

ZDHC/ MRSL

Esquel complies with ZDHC MRSL. Sharing ZDHC’s goal to eliminate priority hazardous chemicals, we have a robust chemical management system, and have been following ZDHC MRSL and Wastewater Guidelines. We stipulate our own MRSL for chemical suppliers to follow, and only compliant chemicals are allowed to be introduced into our facilities. We also monitor our wastewater parameters according to ZDHC Wastewater Guidelines.

AWARDS

ORGANIZATION
Natural Resources Defense Council

AWARD
Rate 91.13/100 in the assessment

YEAR
2020

ORGANIZATION
Federation of Hong Kong Industries, and Hang Seng Bank

AWARD
Hang Seng Pan Pearl River Delta Environmental Awards – Gold Award

ORGANIZATION
Federation of Hong Kong Industries, and Hang Seng Bank

AWARD
Hang Seng Pan Pearl River Delta Environmental Awards – Silver Award

CERTIFICATIONS

  • Global Organic Textile Standard 5.0
  • ISO9001
  • ISO14001
  • ISO50001
  • Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design
  • Oeko-Tex Standard 100
  • Oeko-Tex Sustainable Textile and Leather Production
en_USEnglish